Log in


Log in

Medical Advisory Session

The Medical Advisory Session is presented by the ASO at the host hotel where the ASO Conference is held. Opening remarks and welcoming of our members, guests, and guest lecturers is presented by the ASO President. The Joseph A. LeGrand Award Recipient presents their lecture at the start of the session each year.

The Medical Advisory Session has proven to be a tremendously beneficial forum for exchange between the Ocularist and Surgeons for the mutual benefit of our anophthalmic patients. This has been one of our most respected and favored sessions. The session is comprised of a series of 5-10 minute lectures. Topics and specialties have varied from Surgical, Pediatrics, Psychological, Business Management and Team Approach Concepts for consulting and treating mutual patients.

Many of our lecturers are representatives of our Medical Advisory Board. These are individual physicians who serve 3-year terms as active participants with the ASO. We welcome you to join us for an enjoyable learning experience.

Medical Advisory Board

The Medical Advisory Board of the American Society of Ocularists consists of individual physicians who serve 3-year terms as active participants with the ASO.


Stephen Haddad, BCO, BADO

Beverly Woltman, BCO, BADO     


Donald Kluge, BCO, BADO


James J. Augsburger, MD

Wendall C. Bauman, Jr. MD

Cat Burkat, MD

Kenneth V. Cahill, MD

Murray D. Christianson, MD

Philip Custer, MD

Steven Dresner, MD

John N. Harrington, MD

Thomas Johnson, MD

Don O. Kikkawa, MD

Stephen Klapper, MD

Hui Bae Harold Lee, MD

James H. Merritt, MD

John Ng, MD

William R. Nunery, MD

Bhupendra C. K. Patel, MD

Arthur C. Perry, MD

David A. Sami, MD

John W. Shore, MD

Jeramiah P. Tao, MD

Swapna Vemuri, MD

For more information on participating on the Medical Advisory Session, or to join the Medical Advisory Board, contact ASO Executive Director Tina Schott at

About ASO | Find An Ocularist | Doctors | Resources | Education | Site Map | Home

Copyright © 2024, American Society of Ocularists. All rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software